Что такое Русская Православная Церковь?



 

Вопрос: Что такое Русская Православная Церковь?

Ответ:
Согласно преданию, Русская Православная Церковь возникла из общины верующих, основанной апостолом Андреем, который посещал Скифию и Грецию вдоль северного побережья Черного моря. Предание также гласит, что во время своих миссионерских путешествий Андрей посетил Киев, где сегодня расположена Андреевская церковь. Позже киевская княгиня Ольга приняла христианство, а со временем ее внук Владимир Великий провозгласил христианство византийского обряда официальной религией Киева. Это обозначило рождение того, что впоследствии стало Русской Православной Церковью, частью Восточной Православной Церкви.

Как и другие Православные церкви, Русская Православная Церковь признает догмат о Троице, верит, что Библия является Словом Божьим, и учит, что Иисус является Богом Сыном. В этих вопросах вероучение Русской Православной Церкви соответствует Писанию. Тем не менее, их доктрины имеют намного больше общего с римским католицизмом, чем с евангельским христианством. Их церковная служба является литургической и наполнена символизмом. Дева Мария занимает особое место как Богоматерь. Русская Православная Церковь поощряет использование икон (священных изображений) и учит, что спасение достигается через исполнение таинств – учения о спасении по благодати лишь через веру нет среди доктрин русского православия. Члены Русской Православной Церкви считают решения церковного синода непогрешимыми.

Граф Лев Толстой, автор таких произведений как «Анна Каренина» и «Война и мир», был крещен (в младенчестве) в Русской Православной Церкви. В 1880 г. он вызвал негодование духовенства, опубликовав «Исповедь». Церковь отлучила Толстого в 1901 г., запретила его книги и издала декрет, запрещающий зажигание за него свечей в любой из церквей.

Слово «православный» буквально значит «правильное суждение», «правильное учение» или «правильное славление». Православные церкви, включая Восточную, Ориентальные, Кельтскую, Польскую и другие, утверждают, что следуют христианской вере в том виде, в котором она практиковалась Ранней церковью. Тем не менее, мы находим мало сходства между библейским описанием Ранней церкви и верованиями или обрядами православных церквей или любой другой церкви, придающей большое значение церковным таинствам.

Русская Православная Церковь является одной из автокефальных (самоуправляющихся) восточных православных церквей. Будучи главой самоуправляющейся организации, епископ Русской Православной Церкви не подчиняется вышестоящему епископу. В православии нет папы. Хотя минимизация бюрократии похвальна, это не меняет того факта, что Русская Православная Церковь, как и все другие церкви этого типа, зависит от широкой и многоуровневой руководящей структуры, состоящей из епископов, монахов, священников, архиепископов, монахинь и так далее. В отличие от этого, в Ранней церкви, следуя учениям Христа, все считались братьями и сестрами и никто не стоял выше другого, потому что Бог был их Отцом и Учителем (см. Матфея 23:8-10).

Русская Православная Церковь заявляет об исключительной юрисдикции над всеми христианами, проживающими на территории бывших республик СССР. Русскую Православную Церковь не следует путать с Русской Православной Церковью Заграницей, организацией, созданной в 1920 г. общинами христиан, не желавшими иметь что-либо общего с коммунизмом. В любом случае, очевидно, что Русская Православная Церковь является в большей степени социо-политической, а не духовной организацией. Тело Христа является духовным братством верующих и не ограничивается границами или национальностями, или же политическими убеждениями, как и не удерживает физической юрисдикции над кем-либо (1 Коринфянам 12:27; Ефесянам 3:6; 4:12; 5:23; Колоссянам 1:24). Со Христом во главе Церковь простирается на века, пересекает границы, не поддается человеческому контролю и процветает, несмотря на гонения. Несомненно, в Русской Православной Церкви есть истинные последователи Иисуса, но религиозные учреждения не следует путать с телом Христа, как и не следует считать, что они получили от Него какие-то особые полномочия.


Вернуться на русскую стартовую страницу

Что такое Русская Православная Церковь?

Show navigation

What is the Russian Orthodox Church?


Subscribe to our Question of the Week:

Russian Orthodox Church
Question: "What is the Russian Orthodox Church?"

According to tradition, the Russian Orthodox Church is what came of a community of believers founded by the apostle Andrew, who visited Scythia and Greece, along the northern part of the Black Sea. According to the tradition, while on his missionary journeys, Andrew eventually reached Kiev, the current home of St. Andrew’s Cathedral. Later, Princess Olga of Kiev converted to Christianity, and eventually her grandson, Vladimir the Great, made Byzantine Rite Christianity the official religion in Kiev. This marked the birth of what became the Russian Orthodox Church, part of the Eastern Orthodox Church.

Like other Orthodox churches, the Russian Orthodox Church is trinitarian, believes the Bible to be the Word of God, and teaches that Jesus is God the Son. In these matters, the Russian Orthodox Church aligns with Scripture. However, their doctrine has much more in common with Roman Catholicism than with evangelical Christianity. Russian Orthodox services are liturgical and filled with symbolism. Mary has a special place in Russian Orthodoxy as the Mother of God. The Russian Orthodox Church promotes the use of icons (sacred images) and teaches that salvation is conferred through the observance of the sacraments—the doctrine of salvation by grace through faith alone is not taught in Russian Orthodoxy. Members of the Russian Orthodox Church regard the decisions of their church councils to be infallible.

Count Leo Tolstoy, author of novels such as Anna Karenina and War and Peace, was baptized (as an infant) into the Russian Orthodox Church. In 1880, Tolstoy raised the church’s ire by publishing Critique of Dogmatic Theology. The church excommunicated Tolstoy in 1901, blacklisted his books, and decreed that no candles could ever be burned for Tolstoy within any of its churches.

The word orthodox refers to adherence to a set of beliefs as they were originally set forth. Orthodox churches, including the Eastern, Oriental, Celtic, Polish, and other types of Orthodoxy, claim to adhere to the Christian faith as it was practiced by the early church. However, the biblical descriptions of the early church bear little resemblance in belief or practice to Orthodox Churches or any of the other high church orders.

The Russian Orthodox Church is one of the autocephalous (self-governing) Eastern Orthodox churches. Being the head of a self-governing body, the bishop of the Russian Orthodox Church does not report to a bishop higher than himself. There is no pope in Russian Orthodoxy. While the minimization of bureaucracy is commendable, the fact remains that the Russian Orthodox Church, like all other churches of this type, depends on a wide and many-faceted power structure consisting of bishops, monks, priests, archbishops, cardinals, nuns and so on. In contrast, the early church, in obedience to Christ’s teachings, considered themselves all brothers and sisters and did not hold any one man above another, because God was their Father and Teacher (see Matthew 23:8–10).

The Russian Orthodox Church claims exclusive jurisdiction over any Christian living within the former republics of the USSR. The Russian Orthodox Church is not to be confused with the Orthodox Church in America or the Russian Orthodox Church Outside Russia, an institution created in the 1920s by communities of Christians who wished to disassociate themselves from communism. In any case, it is clear that the Russian Orthodox Church is largely a socio-political, rather than spiritual, institution. The body of Christ is a spiritual brotherhood of believers and is not limited by borders or nationalities or political beliefs, nor does it hold physical jurisdiction or control over any man (1 Corinthians 12:27; Ephesians 3:6; 4:12; 5:23; Colossians 1:24). With Christ as its head, the Church spans ages, crosses borders, defies human control, and thrives despite persecution. There are undoubtedly members of the body of Christ who are also members of the Russian Orthodox Church, but religious institutions are not to be confused with Christ’s body or followed as if they held His authority.

Recommended Resource: Eastern Orthodox Christianity, 2d ed.: A Western Perspective by Daniel B. Clendenin

Related Topics:

What is the Ukrainian Orthodox Church?

What is the Greek Orthodox Church?

What is the Ethiopian Orthodox Church?

What is the Serbian Orthodox Church?

What is the Eastern Orthodox Church and what are the beliefs of Orthodox Christians?

Return to:

Questions about Christianity

Return to: Home

What is the Russian Orthodox Church?

The GQ Network